

Fri 3/13/2020 8:29:24 AM

ECDC: COVID-19 update as of 13 March 2020 Subject:

Received: Fri 3/13/2020 8:30:30 AM

COVID-19-geographic-disbtribution-worldwide-2020-03-13.xls

COVID-19 20200313(EC).pptx

Dear colleagues,

Please find below the epidemiological update for COVID-19 as of 13/03/2020 - 08.00AM Please also find attached the database, the epidemiological curves and the corresponding maps.

Best regards,

5.1.2e

on behalf EI team at ECDC

Update: Since the previous RT report published on 12 March 2020 and as of 13 March 2020, 8 403 new cases of COVID-19 (in accordance with the applied case definitions in the affected countries) and 350 new deaths have been reported. Five countries have reported cases for the first time: Gabon, Ghana, Guyana, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago. New cases have been reported from Italy (2 651), Iran (1 075), Spain (864), Germany (802), France (595), United States (351), Switzerland (212), Denmark (160), Sweden (158), United Kingdom (134), Norway (132), Austria (115), Netherlands (111), South Korea (110), Finland (96), Belgium (85), Czech Republic (83), Japan (56), Slovenia (39), Canada (35), Greece (34), Iceland (32), Australia (30), Ireland (27), Brazil (25), China (22), Egypt (20), Luxembourg (19), Portugal (19), Romania (19), Poland (18), Saudi Arabia (17), Bulgaria (16), Brunei Darussalam (14), Israel (14), Russia (14), Panama (13), Argentina (12), Albania (12), United Arab Emirates (11), Estonia (11), Slovakia (11), Chile (10), Malaysia (9), Singapore (9), Belarus (9), Croatia (9), Kuwait (8), Bosnia and Herzegovina (8), Tunisia (6), Latvia (6), Serbia (6), Mexico (5), Peru (5), Lebanon (5), Vietnam (5), Algeria (4), South Africa (4), Jamaica (4), Iraq (4), Philippines (3), Hungary (3), Malta (3), Ghana (2), Senegal (2), Cambodia (2), India (2), Armenia (2), Moldova (2), North Macedonia (2), Ukraine (2), Gabon (1), Morocco (1), Bolivia (1), Costa Rica (1), Guyana (1), Paraguay (1), Saint Vincent And The Grenadines (1), Trinidad And Tobago (1), Pakistan (1), Sri Lanka (1), Taiwan (1), Georgia (1), Liechtenstein (1), San Marino (1) and Turkey (1).

New deaths have been reported from Italy (189), Iran (75), Spain (37), France (13), United States (10), China (7), Japan (4), United Kingdom (4), Egypt (2), Germany (2), San Marino (2), Algeria (1), Guyana (1), India (1), South Korea (1), Austria (1), Norway (1) and Poland (1).

Summary: Since 31 December 2019 and as of 13 March 2020, 133 921 cases of COVID-19 (in accordance with the applied case definitions in the affected countries) have been reported, including 4 967 deaths. The deaths have been reported from China (3 179), Italy (1 016), Iran (429), Spain (84), South Korea (67), France (61), United States (40), Japan (19), United Kingdom (10), Iraq (8), International conveyance in Japan (7), Germany (5), Netherlands (5), San Marino (5), Switzerland (4), Australia (3), Belgium (3), Egypt (2), Philippines (2), Albania (1), Algeria (1), Argentina (1), Austria (1), Bulgaria (1), Canada (1), Greece (1), Guyana (1), India (1), Indonesia (1), Ireland (1), Morocco (1), Norway (1), Panama (1), Poland (1), Sweden (1), Taiwan (1) and Thailand (1).

Cases have been reported on the following continents:

Africa: Egypt (80), Algeria (24), South Africa (17), Tunisia (13), Morocco (6), Senegal (6), Burkina Faso (2), Cameroon (2), Ghana (2),

Nigeria (2), Cote D'Ivoire (1), Democratic Republic of the Congo (1), Gabon (1) and Togo (1).

Asia: China (80 954), Iran (10 075), South Korea (7 979), Japan (675), Qatar (262), Singapore (187), Bahrain (162), Malaysia (158), Israel (96), United Arab Emirates (85), Kuwait (80), India (75), Iraq (74), Thailand (70), Lebanon (66), Saudi Arabia (62), Philippines (52), Taiwan (49), Vietnam (44), Indonesia (34), Palestine* (30), Brunei Darussalam (25), Pakistan (21), Oman (18), Maldives (8), Afghanistan (7), Cambodia (5), Bangladesh (3), Sri Lanka (3), Bhutan (1), Jordan (1), Mongolia (1) and Nepal (1).

America: United States (1 663), Canada (138), Brazil (77), Chile (33), Argentina (31), Panama (27), Costa Rica (23), Peru (22), Ecuador (17), Mexico (16), Colombia (9), Jamaica (6), Paraguay (6), Dominican Republic (5), Bolivia (3), Cuba (3), Honduras (2), Guyana (1), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (1) and Trinidad and Tobago (1).

Europe: Italy (15 113), Spain (3 004), France (2 876), Germany (2 369), Switzerland (854), Denmark (676), Norway (621), Sweden (620), Netherlands (614), United Kingdom (590), Belgium (399), Austria (361), Czech Republic (177), Finland (155), Greece (133), Iceland (117), Slovenia (96), Portugal (78), Ireland (70), San Marino (67), Romania (64), Poland (49), Russia (34), Estonia (27), Luxembourg (26), Croatia (25), Georgia (25), Serbia (24), Albania (23), Bulgaria (23), Belarus (21), Slovakia (21), Hungary (16), Latvia (16), Azerbaijan (13), Bosnia and Herzegovina (11), Malta (9), North Macedonia (9), Armenia (6), Cyprus (6), Moldova (6), Liechtenstein (4), Lithuania (3), Ukraine (3), Turkey (2), Andorra (1), Holy See (1) and Monaco (1).

Oceania: Australia (156) and New Zealand (5).

Other: International conveyance in Japan (696).

* This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue.

EU/EEA and the UK:

As of 13 March 2020, 28 358 cases have been reported in the EU/EEA and the UK: Italy (15 113), Spain (3 004), France (2 876), Germany (2 369), Denmark (676), Norway (621), Sweden (620), Netherlands (614), United Kingdom (590), Belgium (399), Austria (361), Czech Republic (177), Finland (155), Greece (133), Iceland (117), Slovenia (96), Portugal (78), Ireland (70), Romania (64), Poland (49), Estonia (27), Luxembourg (26), Croatia (25), Bulgaria (23), Slovakia (21), Hungary (16), Latvia (16), Malta (9), Cyprus (6), Liechtenstein (4) and Lithuania (3).

As of 13 March 2020, 1 191 deaths have been reported in the EU/EEA and the UK: Italy (1 016), Spain (84), France (61), United Kingdom (10), Germany (5), Netherlands (5), Belgium (3), Austria (1), Bulgaria (1), Greece (1), Ireland (1), Norway (1), Poland (1) and Sweden (1).

EU:

As of 13 March 2020, 27 026 cases have been reported in the EU: Italy (15 113), Spain (3 004), France (2 876), Germany (2 369), Denmark (676), Sweden (620), Netherlands (614), Belgium (399), Austria (361), Czech Republic (177), Finland (155), Greece (133), Slovenia (96), Portugal (78), Ireland (70), Romania (64), Poland (49), Estonia (27), Luxembourg (26), Croatia (25), Bulgaria (23), Slovakia (21), Hungary (16), Latvia (16), Malta (9), Cyprus (6) and Lithuania (3).

As of 13 March 2020, 1 180 deaths have been reported in the EU: Italy (1 016), Spain (84), France (61), Germany (5), Netherlands (5), Belgium (3), Austria (1), Bulgaria (1), Greece (1), Ireland (1), Poland (1) and Sweden (1).

Public Health Emergency of International Concern (PHEIC):

On 30 January 2020, the World Health Organization declared that the outbreak of COVID-19 constitutes a PHEIC.



Confidentiality Notice

If you are not the intended recipient of this message, you are hereby kindly requested, to, consecutively, refrain from disclosing its content to any third party, delete it, and inform its sender of the erroneous transmittal.